Connect with us


Majimbo Kalasinga tramples wheelbarrow in Kabuchai



Spread the love

Ford Kenya party leader Moses Wetangula is in celebration mode after his candidate Majimbo Kalasinga beat Deputy President William Ruto’s man hands down in the just concluded Kabuchai by-election.

Kalasinga was declared the winner in the Kabuchai Parliamentary by-election after he won by a landslide in yesterday’s by-election.

He garnered 19,274 votes (56 percent) against Ruto’s United Democratic Alliance (UDA) candidate Evans Kakai who came second with 6,455 votes.

Amos Wekesa of the Federal Party of Kenya was third with 1,454 votes followed by Dr. Gasper Wafubwa who came fourth with 1,236 votes out of the 29,798 cast.

Raila Odinga’s ODM did not field a candidate in the Kabuchai by-election.

The results were announced by Independent Electoral and Boundaries Commission (IEBC) Returning Officer, Mr. Benson Esuza.

Kalasinga lost to the late John Lusweti in 2017, when he ran under the Jubilee Party.

Majimbo Kalasinga.

Earlier during the voting process yesterday, four parliamentarians were arrested for allegedly intimidating voters during the ongoing Kabuchai by-election, Bungoma County.

The leaders including Nandi Senator Samson Cherargei, MPs Didmus Barasa, Wilson Kogo and Nelson Koech were arrested Thursday morning, shortly after escorting the UDA party candidate Evans Kakai to cast his vote.

The four were taken to Bungoma Police Station for interrogation.

They denied accusations that they were carrying weapons in their vehicle to cause chaos and disrupt voting.

They are yet to be released from police custody.

Kabuchai by-election: Ruto allied MPs arrested (Video)


Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *